Uber to discontinue tracking passengers after their journey ends

In an attempt to clean up its image Uber have decided to discontinue tracking passengers after the journey ends.


In November's app update customers of Uber were given the option between allowing Uber to collect data in relation to location (including up to 5 mins after the journey has finished) or never collect it. 

Choosing not to be tracked meant that users of the app had to manually enter pick-up and set-down locations negating one of the key usability features of the app. 

Officials from the American app company had claimed that tracking would ensure passenger safety, but have now back-tracked following a public and media backlash.  

Uber however have not ruled out revisiting the idea of tracking further down the line if they find a need for it.


Taxi-Point_Banner_V2 29.03.2021.gif
  • Facebook TaxiPoint
  • Twitter TaxiPoint
  • YouTube TaxiPoint
  • Instagram
whatsapp.jpg